Book Review: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

626F6F78747265616D=7474747474727576707<7473Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

By: J.K. Rowling, John Tiffany & Jack Thorne
Published: July 31, 2016 by Scholastic
Format: Hardcover
Pages: 343
Genres: Fantasy
Rating: ★★½

Summary:
It was always difficult being Harry Potter and it isn’t much easier now that he is an overworked employee of the Ministry of Magic, a husband and father of three school-age children.

While Harry grapples with a past that refuses to stay where it belongs, his youngest son Albus must struggle with the weight of a family legacy he never wanted. As past and present fuse ominously, both father and son learn the uncomfortable truth: sometimes, darkness comes from unexpected places.


My Thoughts

 

I have such mixed feelings about this book/play.

When I consider it as a standalone, I can say that the plot was very interesting and that there were some great characters. However, compared to the main series it paled in comparison.

The way the author portrayed some characters was completely wrong. For instance, Ron’s role was primarily a source of amusement; there was practically no depth to his character at all. I also had some issues with Draco’s drastic change in personality. However, I did really like Scorpius and Albus and loved their friendship.

While the plot was interesting, the writing made it feel like fan fiction. It was also riddled with plot holes. There were so many instances where I had to flip back to check if I missed something, but then it turned out I hadn’t. Maybe the things I missed would have been apparent onstage, but if that’s the case, there really should have been more descriptions of what the audience would be seeing at those times.

I obviously think that I would have liked The Cursed Child much more if J.K. Rowling had written it herself. Especially if it were an actually book, which would have given her the opportunity to flesh out the new characters and the story a bit more.

I’m very thankful that it was published, because I would have been very unhappy if I had spent hundreds of dollars on tickets to see the play in London.

My Rating

picture1picture1picture2

Leave a Reply

