Book Review: The Invisible Library (The Invisible Library, #1) – Genevieve Cogman

21416690The Invisible Library

By: Genevieve Cogman
Published: January 15, 2015 by Tor UK
Format: Paperback
Pages: 329
Genres: Fantasy, Adult
Rating: ★★★¼

Summary:
Irene is a professional spy for the mysterious Library, which harvests fiction from different realities. And along with her enigmatic assistant Kai, she’s posted to an alternative London. Their mission – to retrieve a dangerous book. But when they arrive, it’s already been stolen. London’s underground factions seem prepared to fight to the very death to find her book.

Adding to the jeopardy, this world is chaos-infested – the laws of nature bent to allow supernatural creatures and unpredictable magic. Irene’s new assistant is also hiding secrets of his own.

Soon, she’s up to her eyebrows in a heady mix of danger, clues and secret societies. Yet failure is not an option – the nature of reality itself is at stake.


My Thoughts

I was kind of disappointed by this book. I expected to really love it. I mean, travelling to alternate worlds with varying levels of magic and technology that are filled with werewolves, vampires, fae, and dragons? It sounded so interesting.

However, the writing really fell flat for me. The author placed too much of an emphasis on action and advancing the plot and not enough on developing her characters; they all felt so one-dimensional. When I read a book, if I don’t care about the characters, then the story has to be exceptional in order to hold my interest. Such was not the case with The Invisible Library. I was more intrigued by the premise and the setting of the story rather than what was actually going on.

There was one interesting plot-line introduced towards the end, which I’m guessing will form the basis of the next book. However, I have yet to decide whether or not it intrigued me enough to make me want to pick up the sequel. Regardless, if I do it won’t be for while.

My Rating

picture1picture1picture1.25

Leave a Reply

