Most Anticipated New Releases for the First Half of 2017

screen-shot-2016-12-29-at-6-01-10-pm

I have an embarrassingly large number of books on my to-read list for the upcoming year, but these are the ones I’m absolutely dying to read. Meaning, I either have them entered into my calendar, pre-ordered, and/or gaze longingly at their covers, dreaming of the day I get to read them.

I split this up into two sections. The first consists of new series and standalones, while the second is ongoing series.


Part 1. Standalones and New Series

1. The Bear and the Nightingale by Katherine Arden

Release Date: January 10, 2017

Robin Hobb gave it five stars on goodreads, so that alone is enough to make me want to read it. She called it, “an extraordinary retelling of a very old tale . . . A Russian setting adds unfamiliar spice to the story of a young woman who does not rebel against the limits of her role in her culture so much as transcend them. The Bear and the Nightingale is a wonderfully layered novel of family and the harsh wonders of deep winter magic.”

2. Caraval (Caraval, #1) by Stephanie Garber

Release Date: January 31, 2017

To be perfectly honest, before writing this post I hadn’t even read a summary of the book; just seeing it all over bookstagram made me want to read it! It’s about two sisters who run away from home to seek out Caraval, an elaborate performance in which the audience participates. However, one of the sisters is kidnapped by Caraval’s organizer, and becomes the focus of this year’s game – whoever finds her first is the winner.

 3. Norse Mythology by Neil Gaiman

Release Date: February 7, 2017

I will read anything and everything Neil Gaiman writes, but the fact that he’s writing a book about mythology (which is one of my favourite things ever) makes it even better!

2. Sins of Empire (Gods of Blood and Power, #1) by Brian McClellan

Release Date: March 7, 2017

I absolutely loved McClellan’s Powder Mage trilogy (a flintlock fantasy series that’s somewhat based on the French Revolution), so I can’t wait to get back into that world.

5. Strange the Dreamer (Strange the Dreamer, #1) by Laini Taylor

Release Date: March 28, 2017

I’ve been waiting for a new Laini Taylor book since I finished  her Daughter of Smoke and Bone trilogy a couple of years ago.

It’s about the aftermath of a war between gods and men, a mysterious city stripped of its name, a mythic hero with blood on his hands, a young librarian with a singular dream, a girl every bit as perilous as she is imperiled
alchemy and blood candy, nightmares and godspawn, moths and monsters, friendship and treachery, love and carnage

6. Red Sister (Book of the Ancestor, #1) by Mark Lawrence

Release Date: April 4, 2017

It seems to take most adult fantasy authors ages to come out with new instalments, but Mark Lawrence keeps churning out amazing books each year! Unlike his Broken Empire and Red Queen’s War trilogies, his new series is set in a whole new world.

Red Sister is about a girl who is falsely accused of murder at the age of eight and is sent to a convent to be trained as an assasin by killer nuns. Unlike his Broken Empire and Red Queen’s War trilogies, his new series is set in a whole new world.


Pt. 2: Ongoing Series

2017 is going to be a sad year for me, because a number of my favourite series are ending! I really hope some of the new series I posted about above will help console me.

1. A Conjuring of Light (Shades of Magic, #3) by V.E. Schwab

Release Date: February 21, 2017

Ever since that cliffhanger at the end of A Gathering of Shadows, I’ve been anxiously counting down the days until this book’s release date. I’m hoping for a happy ending to this series, but something tells me that that isn’t V.E. Schwab’s way of doing things…

2.  The Song Rising (The Bone Season, #3) by Samantha Shannon

31451267Release Date: March 7, 2017

Even though I was lucky enough to read an eARC of this, I’m need everyone else to read it, so that I finally have people to talk about it with! It was so incredible.

3. Waking Gods (Themis Files, #2) by Sylvain Neuvel

Release Date: April 4, 2017

Sleeping Giants was one of my favourite debuts of 2016. These books are kind of like The Illuminae Files for adults; they’re not told in a typical format, but through a series of journal entries, interviews, etc.

4.  A Court of Wings and Ruin (A Court of Thorns and Roses, #3) by Sarah J. Maas


Release Date: May 2, 2017

I’m excited for this book partly because the way A Court of Mist and Fury ended was just plain cruel, and partly because I’m really happy that this will be the end of Feyre’s storyline. However, even though I’m not so fond of her, I love the world the series is set in, so I have high hopes for the second trilogy.

 5. Assassin’s Fate (Fitz and the Fool Trilogy, #3) by Robin Hobb


Release Date: May 16, 2017

Robin Hobb is one of my favourite authors. Whenever I pick up one of her books, I’m simultaneously excited and dreading what she’s going to do to my poor heart. With a title like Assassin’s Fate, things are bound to be painful…but I’m sure I’ll enjoy every minute of that pain!

6.Thick as Thieves (The Queen’s Thief, #5) by Megan Whalen Turner


Release Date: May 16, 2017

This is, without a doubt, my most highly anticipated book this year! I never actually thought there would be a fifth book in the series, despite there being six books listed on goodreads, since the last one was published in 2010. I’m so glad I was wrong, though, because The Queen’s Thief is one of my favourite series!

7. Lord of Shadows (The Dark Artifices, #2) by Cassandra Clare


Release Date: May 23, 2017

Lady Midnight was another book that ended with an awful cliffhanger, so I’ve been dying to get my hands on Lord of Shadows ever since I finished it (which was the same day it came out…)!

8 thoughts on “Most Anticipated New Releases for the First Half of 2017

  1. Ooh, a book recommended by Robin Hobb, sign me up!

    I want to read Caraval because it sounds like a YA version of The Night Circus, but I’m so afraid it’ll be a disappointment with those expectations, haha.

    I can’t wait for Strange the Dreamer! I hope we love it as much as Daughter of Smoke and Bone.

    ACOL is definitely my most-anticipated book of 2017!

    Now that I’ve read the Rain Wild Chronicles, I can finally start Fitz and the Fool next year. \o/

    I was SO EXCITED when I saw that Thick as Thieves is actually happening. Unfortunately, I don’t remember anything that happened in the previous books. Do you?

    Like

    • Robin Hobb is so stingy with her stars, so I anything she gives 5 stars to must be incredible!
      I’m a bit worried that I’ll be disappointed with Caraval as well. There’s been so much hype surrounding it!
      I have the same plan for the Fitz and the Fool trilogy! Then I won’t have to wait for the third book.
      I reread The Queen’s Thief series in 2015, so I remember some of it, but I’m definitely going to reread it all before Thick as Thieves comes out!

      Like

      • I’ve added The Bear and the Nightingale to my list! And I saw that it’s blurbed as being for fans of The Night Circus. *crosses fingers*

        I should reread, but…SO. MANY. BOOKS. xD

        Like

  2. Gaaah, yes so many of these are on my list, too!

    A Conjuring of Light is definitely my most anticipated 2017 release. Also cannot wait for Waking Gods, Strange the Dreamer, Red Sister and have heard so many great things about The Bear and the Nightingale already/

    Like

  3. The one I’m most excited about is Assassin’s Fate *_______* Ready to be crushed!
    I also have The Song Rising preordered, and really looking forward to Red Sister! And Waking Gods and A conjuring of light!! So many great books in 2017!

    Like

    • I’m definitely not ready for Assassin’s Fate. I’ll probably have to take a bunch of sick days after finishing it in order to recover! It does feel like there are a lot more books I’m very excited about this year compared to last year. Hopefully we’re not disappointed by any of them! 🙂

      Like

      • Hahah! I’m glad to my school year will be over so I’ll be able to read all night!! But I heard it’s going to be almost more than 900 pages 😍
        Can’t wait for everything! 😀

        Like

Leave a Reply

