Book Review: A Conjuring of Light (Shades of Magic, #3) – V.E. Schwab

29939230

A Conjuring of Light

By: V.E. Schwab
Published: February 21, 2017 by Tor Books
Format: Hardcover
Pages: 624
Genres: Fantasy, Adult
Rating: ★★★★★

Amazon | Book Depository

Summary:

London’s fall and kingdoms rise while darkness sweeps the Maresh Empire—and the fraught balance of magic blossoms into dangerous territory while heroes and foes struggle alike. The direct sequel to A Gathering of Shadows, and the final book in the Shades of Magic epic fantasy series, A Conjuring of Light sees Schwab reach a thrilling culmination concerning the fate of beloved protagonists—and old enemies.


My Thoughts

After A Gathering of Shadows (AGOS)  left me hanging off that awful cliff for one very long year, I had some pretty high expectations for A Conjuring of Light (ACOL). I’m glad to say that it certainly delivered!

This book gave me so much more than I’d wanted and expected: I learned more about characters’ backstories; I came to love certain characters who I’d hated in the past; and had my heart ripped out, stomped on, brushed off, then put back in. I also laughed, gasped aloud, and cried a number of times …Needless to say, it was a pretty exhausting read!

ACOL showcased how much Schwab has grown as a writer since AGOSThe narrative was so much more complex! In ACOL there were upwards of 10 points of view, as opposed to the 3-4 in AGOS, and she incorporated flashbacks into the story, which I really enjoyed. Some people might be put off by the number of POVs, but it worked! Each chapter was fairly short (usually no more than 5 pages), so the changing POVs really propelled the book forward. In addition, she didn’t always jump from one place to another; she often switched between characters within a scene, and I loved getting the chance to see each character’s unique perspective of one scene.

The level of character development was also incredible. I learned so much about and really grew to care for certain characters who I’d either barely known or disliked in the previous books.

Ending a series is never an easy task, because it’s impossible to please everyone while staying true to the story and characters. However, I was beyond happy with the way the Shades of Magic series wrapped up – enough loose ends were tied up to leave me satisfied, while at the same time it hinted at further adventures that I would love to see in the future…just saying!

My Rating

picture1picture1picture1picture1picture1

One thought on “Book Review: A Conjuring of Light (Shades of Magic, #3) – V.E. Schwab

Leave a Reply

