Book Review (ARC): Waking Gods (Themis Files, #2) – Sylvain Neuvel

30134847Waking Gods

By: Sylvain Neuvel
Expected Date of Publication: April 4, 2017 by Del Rey
Format: eARC courtesy of NetGalley
Pages: 320
Genres: Science Fiction, Adult
Rating: ★★★½

Amazon | Book Depository

Summary:
As a child, Rose Franklin made an astonishing discovery: a giant metallic hand, buried deep within the earth. As an adult, she’s dedicated her brilliant scientific career to solving the mystery that began that fateful day: Why was a titanic robot of unknown origin buried in pieces around the world? Years of investigation have produced intriguing answers—and even more perplexing questions. But the truth is closer now than ever before when a second robot, more massive than the first, materializes and lashes out with deadly force.

Now humankind faces a nightmare invasion scenario made real, as more colossal machines touch down across the globe. But Rose and her team at the Earth Defense Corps refuse to surrender. They can turn the tide if they can unlock the last secrets of an advanced alien technology. The greatest weapon humanity wields is knowledge in a do-or-die battle to inherit the Earth . . . and maybe even the stars


My Thoughts

Sleeping Giants was one of my favourite books of 2016 – I had absolutely no idea what it was about, or what to expect, but I loved every page of it. So, I could not wait for the release of its sequel, Waking Gods. However, unlike Sleeping Giants, I did not enjoy every page. The first half was amazing, and then things kind of fell apart for me.

Sleeping Giants was mainly about finding and assembling all the different pieces of the alien robot, Themis, learning how she operated, how the countries of Earth react to this new threat in the hands of the United States, and ultimately banding together to form a defense league against potential alien threats . In Waking Gods, the stakes are much higher. When additional robots start appearing in major cities across the globe,

One of my favourite things about Waking Giants was its tone. The idea of giant robots suddenly appearing across the globe, threatening major cities, is a pretty discomforting one. However, the irreverent banter between the characters made it much more fun to read about as opposed to them being serious all the time.

In the first book, the format was something I really enjoyed. For the most part, it was written as a series of personal journal entries and interviews conducted by an unidentified character. This meant that the reader played a somewhat passive role – as we generally learnt about events after the fact. However, Waking Gods introduced some new elements that I didn’t like anywhere near as much. The ones I found to be the most problematic were the scenes of pure dialogue. I know I said I enjoyed the banter between the characters, but it just wasn’t very exciting or as engaging to read scene after scene with no exposition whatsoever.

While I didn’t think it was as good as Sleeping Giants, I still thought that Waking Gods was a very interesting, fast-paced read, and will definitely be continuing on with the series.

My Rating

picture1picture1picture1.25

Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

One thought on “Book Review (ARC): Waking Gods (Themis Files, #2) – Sylvain Neuvel

  1. Great review! I loved Sleeping Giants, liked Waking Gods, but never really felt like it was amazing. I just kept on reading and didn’t felt as grasped by the story even if the stakes were higher. *now I need to finish writing my review too*

    Like

Leave a Reply

